Things a lot of people struggle with

So I’ve had a few weeks at the same weight then last week I had lost some weight then added a kg (2.2lbs) back on.  It’s weird as I haven’t been pushing myself to hard. I did have two meals out last weekend and discovered I had biscuits in the house – oops!

A little bit of weight gain won’t make me stop my fight. I’ll just go back out for an extra walk, or make soup to fill me up.  Keep smiling and keep going.
I’m getting a lot of complements about the weight loss. And have started putting clothes in the ‘too big’ pile and taking stuff out of the ‘too small ‘ pile.  I’m enjoying the gym and clubercise is great fun.  In just over a week I’m doing my first 5k.

I am raising money for charity, one very close to my heart (and many others); cancer research.  When I was 17 I lost my gran to a very rare skin  cancer. She fought for a very long time and I miss her still.  I am about 10 years older than my cousins so remember the person she was before the cancer really took hold.  I remember her hospital stays being short but they got longer and longer as the treatment got more and more intense.

I now hate hospitals after the number of times I visited for my gran, I still have a vivid memory of going to see her in my early teens wearing my dad’s New Zealand rugby shirt when she wasn’t at her best. I get really anxious when I have to go in for anything and I’ve had a fair few runs to a&e with my habits.  I had my first biopsy for a lump when I was in my early 20’s. I have the scar to prove it. It visible so I am comfortable talking about it, that and it was benign.  Because it’s on my arm, because I just went straight back to work like nothing happened.

I also remember how the nurses, and the surgeon treated me. I had a local anaesthetic and watched everything, nearly fainted when I went to sign myself out – so was promptly say down and give a cup of tea and a scone. They where so kind and caring. I’m getting my life back again so I need to give myself a sharp reminder that I have to look after myself because it is just me.

image

Biopsy scar

Leave a comment